Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Levels of Marriage Communication

Communication is undeniably the lifeblood of any relationship, particularly in marriage. While it’s widely recognized that women often use more words than men, this verbal engagement is not just about quantity but about connecting on multiple levels. Effective communication in relationships can be complex, involving various layers that can deepen intimacy and enhance understanding. Let’s explore the six levels of communication that can transform everyday interactions into meaningful connections.

Level 1: Cliché Conversation

The first level of communication is the most superficial, encompassing basic greetings and small talk. “How was your day?” “Fine, and yours?” These interactions are safe and predictable, requiring little emotional investment and often serving as conversation starters rather than meaningful exchanges.

Tip: While cliché, these conversations are stepping stones and should be seen as opportunities to open doors to deeper interactions.

Level 2: Reporting Facts

This level involves sharing information about events or others without personal commentary. It’s slightly more informative than clichés but still remains on the surface, involving no personal vulnerability. “The kids have a school play next week” or “The car is making that noise again.”

Tip: Use these facts as a springboard for deeper inquiry and engagement. Ask questions that might reveal more about your partner’s thoughts or feelings regarding the facts they’re reporting.

Level 3: Ideas and Judgments

This is where communication starts to get more personal and engaging. Level three moves beyond simple facts to sharing opinions and ideas. This level can be pivotal as it invites partners to agree or disagree, thus providing insights into personal values and beliefs.

Tip: Encourage each other to share opinions freely, ensuring that disagreements are handled respectfully. This level is where genuine understanding begins to take shape.

Marriage communication such as expressing your feelings

Level 4: Personal Feelings

Opening up about personal feelings requires trust and vulnerability, marking a deeper level of communication. Sharing how something made you feel—not just what happened but your emotional response—can significantly deepen a connection.

Tip: Create a safe space for expressing feelings without fear of judgment. Respond with empathy and validate your partner’s emotions, even if you don’t fully understand them.

Level 5: Emotional Needs

At this level, individuals express what they need emotionally from their partner. This might involve articulating needs for affection, support, understanding, or space. Communicating at this level can prevent resentments and misunderstandings and foster a supportive and loving relationship.

Tip: Be clear and specific about what you need from your partner and ask them to do the same. Understanding and meeting each other’s emotional needs can vastly improve relationship satisfaction.

Level 6: Complete Emotional and Personal Connection

The deepest level of communication involves a blend of all previous levels, culminating in a complete emotional and personal connection. This level is characterized by total openness and honesty, where both partners feel fully seen, heard, and understood.

Tip: Regular check-ins and continual personal growth can help maintain this level of connection. Engage in activities that foster closeness and ensure you frequently revisit and talk about the health of your relationship.

Implementing the Six Levels: A Personal Story

To illustrate how these levels work in real life, let’s consider a personal story. My wife and I once faced a misunderstanding that initially seemed trivial but revealed deeper emotional undercurrents. It started with a simple fact about a forgotten dinner date (Level 2). When discussing it, we shared our judgments about the importance of the event (Level 3) and eventually expressed how the oversight made each of us feel (Level 4). This led to a discussion about needing better communication and respect for each other’s schedules (Level 5), which deepened our understanding and appreciation for one another, reinforcing our bond (Level 6).


Understanding and utilizing these six levels of communication can transform relationships from mundane to deeply satisfying. Each level builds upon the last, creating a ladder of intimacy that can lead to a fully realized emotional connection. By consciously navigating these levels, couples can enhance not only their communication but also their overall relational happiness.

Create a new account

"*" indicates required fields

Step 1 of 3

Step 1: Basic Information